Holistic Approach to Chrohn’s 

So a few months ago I posted THIS POST about some weird stomach issue I was having. Well in October I found out I have Chron’s disease which is a chronic inflammatory bowel disease that affects the lining of the digestive tract. 

*So glam I know*

“Crohn’s disease cannot be cured. Medications such as steroids and immunosuppressants are used to slow the progression of disease. If these aren’t effective, a patient may require surgery. Additionally, patients with Crohn’s disease may need to receive regular screening for colorectal cancer due to increased risk.” 

So upon getting the results back from my gastroenterologist we decided to map out a plan that teeters towards holistic as opposed to harsh steroids or medicine that leave me vulnerable to getting sick more frequently. I was willing to give it a go for a few months to see what happened. We decided this was a better option because I am only 24, physically active, and in otherwise great health. 

So here are a few things I have tested out for about 8 months that have kept me flare free and off harsher drugs.  The main goal for this regiment is: help with digestion, keep my immune system strong, keep my gut healthy, and help with my bones/joints.

| side note: all of these products are available at many health food stores, Vitacost, whole foods, sprouts, or vitamin shoppe, I also like to stick to the NOW brand if I can get my hands on it |


Holistic Suppliments


#1 Oil Of Oregano #2 Ashwagandha #3 Papaya Enzymes #4 Braggs ACV Young Living Lemon Vitality #5 L-Lysine #6 L-Carnitine #7 Plant Enzymes #8 echinacea goldenseal #9 Probiotic #10 Digize


Oil of Oregano – Used for immune disease, healing infections.

Ashwagandha – Helps with stress that can cause flares.

Papaya Enzymes – Helps with digestion and proper nutrient absorption.

Braggs ACV/ Lemon Essential Oil – helps with upset stomach and cramping. The lemon just makes in bearable to take a shot of. 

l-lysine – a key amino acid, that I do not get much of because I do not eat much food containing it. 

l-carnitine – helps my muscles and joints not ache constantly.

Plant enzymes- helps break down hard to digest food by taking stress off the colon and GI tract. 

Echinacea Goldenseal – help keep a strong immune system

Probiotic  – helps support growth of healthy bacteria in the stomach. 

Digize Essential Oil – Use topically to aid in digestion/ relieve cramping.

Do you have any suggestions of other things I should be taking? Do you or someone you know battle with IBD or IBS? Let me know below how they manage to live normally. 


5 thoughts on “Holistic Approach to Chrohn’s 

  1. Joe says:

    Hi,
    One thing that I know works for inflammation is turmeric/circumin. It’s a powerful anti-inflammatory. If you decide to try it, get a good non-GMO organic brand and make sure it has bioperine extract in it. This helps the body absorb more of the turmeric than it would without this extract.

    I hope this helps!

    Joe

    Liked by 1 person

  2. DonnaLiane says:

    Hi everyone! I also had inflammatory bowel disease in the form of ulcerative colitis.
    Not wanting medications I tried an elimination diet because what the naturopath gave me, did not help at all. Many people believe it is linked to food intolerances and allergies and this seems to be the case for me.
    After the first 2 weeks out of 6, I knew what was causing the issue. I have now been disease free (confirmed by colonoscopy) for 10 years. It cleared up gradually over 12 months (not instantly) by avoiding my food intolerances and then it stayed away. I am therefore also medication and supplement free as well, although I do recommend that some of what people have mentioned such as tumeric can also be added to your diet because they have good health effects anyway and can prevent other issues and flare ups. This, I think, is the cheapest and most effective path to obtaining good health again for free. It is simply avoidance of certain foods. After eliminating them from my diet, I can eat them again, but in small quantities and infrequently. Worth a try.

    Like

Leave a comment